shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

General Information on MTLE

Page address:

As of September 1, 2010 all teacher candidates are required to take the Minnesota Teacher Licensure Exam (MTLE) Basic skills, Pedagogical, and Subject area exams offered through Pearson Evaluation System. Although you will be tested over the new reading standards, these new standards will not count against our teacher candidates between September 1, 2010 to February 1, 2012.

  • For any student graduating before September 1, 2010, a passing score on the Praxis II (Content and Pedagogy) will be recognized until August 31, 2012 and a passing scores on the Praxis I (PPST) will be recognized until December 31, 2015 for all students.
  • For any student graduating after September 1, 2010, a passing score on the Praxis I and II (PPST, Content and Pedagogy) will be recognized until December 31, 2015.

Title II statement: Prior to September 1, 2010 education students are required to pass the Praxis I and II exams for teacher licensure. In 2010-2011 institutional pass rate for all completers at MSU was.

What you need to know!

All applicants for a first-time Minnesota teaching license must successfully complete required teacher licensure tests in:

  1. basic skills of reading, writing, and mathematics;
  2. professional knowledge; and
  3. content/subject matter.

If you are already licensed but would like to add another license, you will only have to take the content knowledge test in the new licensure field.

Minimum passing scores (240) set by the State must be achieved on all tests to be eligible for licensure.  All tests are offered throughout the academic year at Computerized Basic Skills Testing Centers (CBT) which are located in Minnesota, nationwide, and in Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and Canada.


Basic Skills Exam

The Basic Skills Exam is a basic competency test in reading, writing and mathematics. Evidence of having taken the test is required as part of the admission process for Professional Education.

Professional Education admittance is required before students can continue with certain courses in their program.   Students will want to plan accordingly so they are not held up for registration.


Pedagogy and Content/Subject Exams

The Pedagogy exam measures general pedagological knowledge and the Content/Subject exam(s) measure general and subject-specific pedagological skills and knowledge.

Pedagogy exam consists of three levels of assessment. Students take one test within the scope of their licensure:

  • Elementary (Grades K - 6)
  • Secondary (Grades 5 - 12)

Students will need to take a Content/Subject exam for each teaching field. For example, a Social Studies and ESL Major would take the Social Studies content and the ESL content tests.
Note: Elementary Majors take a content test for elementary education.

The Content and pedagogy exam should be taken prior to student teaching.

If you have questions contact the College of Education Academic Advising Office, Armstrong Hall 117, 507-389-1215