shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Type, leftmenu, syntax error on data section 13 = '{category}'
Line:*College of Education Home[/]^*Programs & Departments[/programs/]^*Prospective Students[/teachersoftomorrow/]^*Teachers of Tomorrow[/teachers_of_tomorrow.html]^*Current Students[/currentstudents.html]^*Teacher Licensure[/licensure/]^*MTLE[/advising/mtle.html]^*Academic Advising[/advising/]^*Centers & Partnerships[/centersinst.html]^*Faculty & Staff[/facultyandstaff.html]{category}^**Organizational Chart[/organizational.html]^**COE Committees[/about/committees.html]^***BOT Updates[/professionaled/teachingboard.html]{selected}^{category}^**Policy & Procedures[/about/policies.html]^**Online Resource Center[/sped/orc.html]^*Alumni & Donors[/alumnidonors.html]^*Contact Us[/contact.html]

BOT Updates

Page address:

Teacher licensure programs at MSU have all been approved by the Board of Teaching. This section contains links to the Institutional Report made to the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education, the Board of Teaching Code of Ethics for Minnesota Teachers and a link to recent changes in licensing regulations and other areas.

BOT Announcements:

Beginning July 1, 2010, candidates will be able to apply for a stand-alone K-6 license. However, you may have already taken the 5-8 Middle School specialty course work. If you have, you may choose to take the specialty area test to earn the endorsement. It is very important that you take the exam and to apply for licensure before August 31, 2012. Beginning September 1, 2012, only recommendations for K-6 licensure based on new rules will be processed. Click here to read more.

Beginning September 1, 2010

  • Licensure tests have changed; starting September 1, 2010, the Minnesota Teacher Licensure Exam (MTLE) was introduced. The MTLE is aligned to new reading and technology standards. The exam that you take will contain reading and technology standards that were not included in your licensure program. For additional information please click here.
  • Elementary education candidates will not be required to earn a specialty area license in addition to the K-6 license. The six specialty areas will still be options for these candidates, but will not be required for becoming licensed as an elementary teacher in Minnesota. Click here to read more.
  • Licensure rules are changing; licensure tests available after September 1, 2010, will be aligned to new reading and technology standards. If you choose not to take the licensure tests prior to September 1, 2010, or if you do not pass the test before September 1, 2010, the test you take in the future may contain reading and technology standards that were not included in your licensure program.
    However, if you take the MTLE test between September 1, 2010, and February 1, 2012, the score relating to the new reading standards will not be factored into the passing score. Test items relating to old reading standards will be factored in.

Beginning February 1, 2012

  • New reading standards and test items will be factored into the passing score.
  • If you have not applied for licensure prior to September 1, 2012, you will be held to all new licensure standards and testing requirements.