shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Faculty & Staff

Page address: http://ed.mnsu.edu/sped/faculty/

The mission of the Department of Special Education is to prepare quality and principled professionals to educate children and young adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders, Developmental Disabilities, Emotional Behavioral Disorders, and Learning Disabilities.

Our program features faculty who have active research and publishing agendas, serve as leaders on state and national research projects, and provide professional development and consulting services locally and nationally. Sample areas of expertise include:

  • Data Based Decision-Making (Individual, Classroom, School, District)
  • Response to Intervention
  • Transition from School to Adult Life
  • Special Education Law
  • Academic and Behavioral Interventions for Students with Emotional and Behavioral Disorders
  • Evidence-based Instructional Strategies for Students with Mild Disabilities
  • Evidence-based Methods for Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders
  • Literacy Differentiation Strategies
  • Preparation of Paraprofessionals
  • Technology for Special Education

Department Chair

Alexandra PanahonDr. Alexandra Panahon

Associate Professor

Interests  |  [PDF] Vita (182 KiB)
alexandra.panahon@mnsu.edu
Phone: 507-389-2908
Office: 318N Armstrong Hall

Underdgraduate Coordinator

Sean WachsmuthDr. Sean Wachsmuth

Assistant Professor

Interests  |  [PDF] Vita (145 KiB)
sean.wachsmuth@mnsu.edu
Phone: 507-389-5449
Office: 313 Armstrong Hall

Graduate Coordinator

Aaron DerisDr. Aaron Deris

Associate Professor

Interests  |  [PDF] Vita (142 KiB)
aaron.deris@mnsu.edu
Phone: 952-818-8878
Office: 7700 France Ave. S., Suite 353
Edina, MN 55435

Faculty

Kyena CorneliusDr. Kyena Cornelius

Assistant Professor

Interests  |  [PDF] Vita (116 KiB)
kyena.cornelius@mnsu.edu
Phone: 507-389-5650
Office: 318R Armstrong Hall

Karen EastmanDr. Karen Eastman

Professor

Interests  |  [PDF] Vita (170 KiB)
karen.eastman@mnsu.edu
Phone: 507-389-5651
Office: 318M Armstrong Hall

Andrew JohnsonDr. Andrew Johnson

Professor

Interests  |  [PDF] Vita (58 KiB)
andrew.johnson@mnsu.edu
Phone: 507-389-5660
Office: 324A Armstrong Hall

Kim Johnson-HarrisDr. Kim Johnson

Assistant Professor

Interests  |  [PDF] Vita (123 KiB)
kimberly.johnson-1@mnsu.edu
Phone: 507-389-1307
Office: 318Q Armstrong Hall

Kiersten HensleyDr. Kiersten Hensley

Assistant Professor

Interests  |  [PDF] Vita (188 KiB)
kiersten.hensley@mnsu.edu
Phone: 507-389-5665
Office: 318P Armstrong Hall

Dana WagnerDr. Dana Wagner

Associate Professor

Interests  |  [PDF] Vita (132 KiB)
dana.wagner@mnsu.edu
Phone: 507-389-5653
Office: 7700 France Ave. S., Suite 330 Edina, MN 55435

Teri WallaceDr. Teri Wallace

Professor

Interests  |  [PDF] Vita (267 KiB)
teresa.wallace@mnsu.edu
Phone: 507-389-5381
Office: 312G Armstrong Hall

Staff

Jan GostonczikJan Gostonczik

Administrative Assistant

janet.gostonczik@mnsu.edu
Phone: 507-389-1122
Office: 313 Armstrong Hall